The Wells Fargo Cup, presented and sponsored by Wells Fargo Bank, N.A., recognizes overall excellence in high school athletics among NCISAA member institutions.  As such, the cup has become the single most valued athletic achievement award in  North Carolina.
Since 1985 the Wells Fargo Cup has been presented to the schools in each classification (1A and 2A) with the best overall interscholastic athletic programs.  Beginning in 1999 – 2000, the Wells Fargo Cup has been awarded in three classifications, 1A, 2A, and 3A, with awards being issued to the school with the most combined points.  The winning schools in each classification receive an engraved silver cup and a banner.  Both awards are provided as permanent recognition of that year’s athletic excellence.


  1. The winning schools are determined by point totals earned through competition in state championships.
  2. Each school that finishes in the top eight of a state championship tournament receives Wells Fargo Cup points.
  3. If a particular state championship allows for inter-classification competition (i.e. 1A vs. 2A), the points are awarded based on each school’s standing relative to other schools in its classification.
  4. Wells Fargo points are awarded as follows:
    • 1st place = 50 points
    • 2nd place = 45 points
    • 3rd place = 40 points
    • 4th place = 35 points
    • 5th place = 30 points
    • 6th place = 25 points
    • 7th place = 20 points
    • 8th place = 15 points
  5. In the event of a tie, the point total for that finish is divided evenly among the schools involved.